Pillage

Author: Obert Skye (author of the awesome Leven Thumps series)

Series: the Pillage Trilogy #1

Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult/Adventure

When fifteen-year-old Beck Phillips travels by train to the secluded village of Kingsplot to live with his wealthy but estranged uncle, Beck discovers some dark family secrets. A buried basement, a forbidden wall, an old book of family history with odd references to… dragons? Beck’s life is about to be changed forever in this suspenseful tale about the destructive nature of greed and the courage to make things right.

Positive Content: Friendship, loyalty, love, and ingenuity are all themes in this book. People look out for each other, protect each other, and try to do what’s right in order to protect the ones they love.

Negative Content: Naturally, there’s the villains. Beck also uncovers several plots about greedy ancestors and family secrets. While digging around where he’s not supposed to, he lies several times to cover it up. Dragons wreak havoc. There is very little language (next to none, actually) and no sexual content.

Summary: This book was a blast; and I had trouble keeping my eyes off the eye-candy cover! Talk about a cover crush! I can’t wait to read the next book in this series as soon as I can lay my hands on it.

Ages: 13+

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 responses to “Pillage

  1. Great review, Mirriam. I liked “Pillage” as well, and was excited to see what you said about it. I do wish, though, that you’d written a little bit *more.* :-) I must say, you have… re-excited me to read the next book. (I know, I know, not a normal word. I write fiction, though… :-D)

    • *laughs*
      Pillage was great; in fact when I saw who had written it I thought of you!! I remember how much you loved Obert Skye :)
      Ooh; written more? Sheesh; I write ONE short review and you complain. Hmmph. ;) Re-excited? Me’likes!!

    • A peddler has cursed the Pillage family; so you could say kind of, I suppose – but not wizards-wands-pointy-hats magic :)

Leave a Reply

