Legend

Author: Marie Lu

Series: Legend #1

Genre: Young Adult/Dystopian/Adventure/Romance

 In a dark, futuristic United States, 15-year-0old girl prodigy June staunchly believes in the Republic, and wants nothing more than to hunt down and capture the 15-year-old boy criminal Day, who killed her older brother Metias. Or so she thinks.

Pros: Day. Even though he was fifteen, he was a very cool character and usually very human and well-written. I loved how she described him, his attitude was great even at times I thought “Well… that should have been handled better.” I loved how he took care of Tess, how much he loved his family, and how all-around epic he was.

Metias. I know, you don’t like him at the beginning…. and he didn’t start to grown on me until after (spoilers again!) he was killed. Oddly enough,  I started to like him after he was dead, and by the end of the book I thought “Well, Metias, it’s too bad you’re dead because you’re pretty cool.”

The worldbuilding. It wasn’t uberly-detailed, but Marie Lu did a great job of dropping me off into her dystopian world and letting me get a feel for it on my own. She didn’t have to go into tons of backstory or page after page of description; I could picture everything perfectly in my own mind. Kudos!

John. I won’t spoil this one for you… he had a small part, but he was an all-around good guy. Way to go, John

Cons: Romance, I like. Romance between fifteen-year-olds? Eerrr, not so much. The main characters seemed more like seventeen or eighteen rather than fifteen; although I can understand why she made them those ages considering the timeline she was working with. And also, having older guys flirt with June? Um, hello, you’re like twenty-five and she’s fifteen… illegal, anybody?

The pacing. It took me about half the book to really get involved in the story. It wasn’t until (spoilers, sweetie) Day was captured that I was finally hooked and drawn in. It wasn’t that the story was slow, because it wasn’t. It was actually quite fast-paced. But the short chapters, spaced between the two main characters, took a while for me to adjust to; it kept throwing me off. Every time I felt involved with Day, suddenly I’d be with June, and then I’d be with Day again.

June seemed a little unrealistic at times, like she was a 40-year-old masquerading as a 15-year-old. I’m sorry, but no 15-year-old girl is going to be able to whip gluteus maximus like that unless she has superpowers. Day was a little more realistic; after all, he’s a boy and he’s lived his whole life on the streets. But having June suddenly turn into a kung-fu superspy was a tad bit overdone.

How can I put this? Um… Day is fifteen. He’s not going to be some super-flirtatious-experienced-womanizer by this time. (The book doesn’t go into detail, but it’s implied a bit.) If he were older? Sure. But fifteen is just not old enough for all that experience.)

There was a small smattering of swearing, but it was very little. There is one reference made to ‘all the gods,’ but that’s the only religion in the book.

Summary: This book had plot twists that surprised me, but it also had lines that were pretty downright predictable. I knew who the villain was almost from the very beginning, and you piece together a lot of the supposed ‘secret’ plotlines yourself before they’re actually exposed to you near the end of the book. However, there WERE a few that took me by surprise, so – hooray! I look forward to reading book number two, Prodigy, set to come out some time in the near future.

Ages: 15+

3.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

