The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica: Here, There Be Dragons

 

Title: Here, There Be Dragons

Series: Book 1 of The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica

Back Cover:  “John, Jack and Charles are strangers brought together by the Imaginarium Geographica – an atlas of all the lands that have ever existed in myth and legend, fable and fairy tale. On the eve of the murder of a caretaker of the Geographica, the men learn that it is now up to them to protect the atlas from the Winter King, an evil conquerer gaining strength in the world of the imaginary. After securing one of just seven ships that can cross into the imaginary lands, the three men set out to find the Winter King before he builds a deathless army that no force on Earth can defeat.”

My review: I read it in one day. And my mom is reading it now! (Well, technically I started it, she wanted it, I took it back, she took it while I was busy, then I took it back and finished it and now she’s going to finish it. Book tag, y’might say.) It’s a very well-written high-adventure fantasy book that was immensly enjoyable. (I spent the better part of the day devouring it up!) It is written with just the right amount of humor, just the right amount of excitement, and just the right amount of ‘muchness,’ to quote the Mad Hatter. Three supposedly ‘good’ witches show up for about 3 pages, then leave (much to my relief!) but much of the book is drawn from mythology from all over the world. God is mentioned, but so are ‘the gods ‘ – mixing them in a rather confusing way, but as there aren’t any ‘gods’ in the book, it remained fine. A great, great, great book. And should it seem like parts are stolen directly from Narnia or the Lord of the Rings – well, you’ll find out why at the end.

NOTE: This is written several days after. My mom did not finish the book – and we had a discussion why. I hadn’t really thought about it, but the ‘gods’ are very prominent in this book, and Mom pointed out how much God hates that. So, even though it was a total blast, I’m not going to finish the series, and wouldn’t recommend it.

Age Rating: 14+

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars!

One response to “The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica: Here, There Be Dragons

  1. I saw this a while ago, but the cover art didn’t look very good. Don’t judge me! :D I just think of it like this. If the author has good taste, (or taste similar to your’s,) he will choose a cover that looks good. For you, this might not be the same, but think about it! The cover (for me at least) reflects on the writing. Do you agree?

Leave a Reply

