Christian Encounters: Jane Austen

 

Title: Jane Austen

Series: Christian Encounters

Author: Peter Leithart

Peter Leithart sheds Christian light on Jane Austen in this fantastically written biography. Through the book you read about Jane ‘Jenny’ Austen’s family, her writings, her life, and her death, but the most interesting was her personal life, which you get much of from reading this book. I have tried to read other Austen biographies, but found them dry and frankly boring – this one, I could not put down. (And it was a biography! You know me and biographies.) I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a biography on Jane Austen that is easy-to-read, contains many, many interesting facts, and clearly shows how her Christian walk affected her writings. This book challenged me to continue with my writings as Jane did despite many hardships in her life, and it inspired me to take joy in the world – laugh at it, let it amuse me, draw my writings from what I see and think and do. Jane did not let the world bother her, rather she let it entertain her in a way that allowed her to write her novels in ways that would be appealing and realistic, and yet also enjoyable and maybe, just a little, whimsical.

Age Rating: 14+ (It is entirely appropriate, but probably difficult for any younger to understand.)

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars!

Book courtosy of www.booksneeze.com
2 responses to “Christian Encounters: Jane Austen

Leave a Reply

