The Looking Glass Wars

Author: Frank Beddor

Series: The Looking Glass Wars

Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult

My Review: What if Alice in Wonderland was a true story… that had been horribly misinterpreted? What if the real Alice was Alyss Heart, heir to the throne of the queendom of Wonderland? What if the ‘White Rabbit’ was Bibwit Harte – Alice’s albino tutor? What if the “Ceshire Cat” was reallya shapeshifting assassin? What if the Red Queen was really Alyss’s aunt  – intent on usurping the throne and dominating Wonderland? And what if the ‘Mad Hatter’ was really Alyss’s bodyguard, Hatter Madigan – and was more deadly than you could imagine?

For Alyss Heart, Wonderland is anything but the dream of a whimsical child. It is a country torn by war, filled with danger, and brimming with political intrigue. The idea for this book had me STUNNED. After seeing the new Alice in Wonderland and loving it, I HAD to read this book. I LOVED it!!!

Positive Elements: Hatter Madigan’s life purpose is to protect Alyss. Everyone on Alyss’s side are willing to risk their lives for her. Loyalty is a strong theme, and good-and-evil are clearly represented here. In the Looking Glass maze, the Blue catarpiller tells Alice that she has failed when she gives into her anger and rage (note: when she does so, she looks in a mirror and briefly sees herself as Queen Redd, showing what she would become if she gave in to hatred). I did not catch any profanities, and there is nothing sexual at all in the book. It is a violent  book, but not at all gory.

Negative Elements: Issa, a former queen, seems to have been promoted to ‘deity’ because a few times the use of such phrases as “For Issa’s Sake” are used.

Age: 16+

5 out of 5 stars

4 responses to “The Looking Glass Wars

  1. I’ve been looking at this book and wondering if it should be added to my to-be-read pile. I think I’ll have to add it now. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

  2. wow, I’m glad you did a review of this!—I really like this book! 8-) and Hatter Madigan is now my current favorite character… ;D ;D I wonder if you’d be willing to read the next book and post a review? I’d like to see if I should get it… :)

    :-* CM

Leave a Reply

