Wildwood Dancing

Author: Juliet Marillier

Genre: Young Adult/Romance/Fantasy

I got this book on recommendation, and at first (after gazing at the cover, trying to spot all the different creatures tucked in camoflaged corners) I thoroughly enjoyed it. In fact, it was quickly becoming a favorite – a story of five sisters, two tragic lovers, loyalty, a romantic time period, written in a lovely, enthralling style. There were mentions of a witch in a few places – but she appeared malevolent, and she stayed out of the actual story. But about three-fourths through the book, she showed up – and she was a ‘good witch.’ I could have cried I was so disappointed – the book had been amazing. But God has very specific views on witchcraft and wizardry, and their respective users. Exodus says “Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live.” And so I had to stop the book.

However, it inspired me to write my own (witch-less) story, which I’ll be working on.

Ages: 15+

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 responses to “Wildwood Dancing

  1. It’s good that you hold so strongly to your values. Awesome. Too bad the book was a disappointment, though. I’ve often admired the cover on that one too, though I’ve never read it.

  2. That’s too bad. While i love this book, it definitely isn’t for everyone. The cover is amazing, though- it used to seem like every time I looked at it, i spotted something new! :)

Leave a Reply

