Rose Daughter

Author: Robin McKinley

Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult/Romance

Beauty has a strange gift with plants – especially her roses. She loves them, and they grow for her – but people are beginning to whisper. Is it magic? Beauty does not believe so –  but when she is sent to live with the mysterious Beast in his castle, she begins to discover things that she never thought she would.

This was a fun book – I’m always up for a good fairy-tale retelling. This is Robin McKinley’s second retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and I found it enjoyable, but there were a few things I didn’t really like.

1. Greenwitches and Sorcerers are mentioned a lot in the book – although right up until the very end, you never really meet one. It is found out that the Beast has a sorcerer’s powers. This was a disappointment, seeing as how I’m very agains tthe whole ‘good-witch’ ‘good-wizard’ thing, Greenwitch or no.

However, there was a pleasing lack of language and sexual situations. Still, wizardry/witchcraft portrayed as ‘good’ is against my principals, so I wouldn’t read it again.

Ages: 15+

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 responses to “Rose Daughter

  1. That’s too bad :( I don’t think I’ll be reading it then… *sob* oh, well.

    Just so you know, I just finished The Looking Glass Wars and LOVED IT! I also read Beowulf a week or so ago, upon your suggestion, and LOVED it too! (I really, really like “Anglo/Saxon” and “Viking” type stuff )

    Thank you so much! :)

    Celine

  2. More requests, if you ever get the chance:

    The Thirteenth Princess by Diane Zahler

    The Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

    :)

Leave a Reply

