The Time Quartet

Author: Madeline L’Engle

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

Series: The Time Quartet – 1. A Wrinkle in Time 2. A Wind in the Door 3. A Swiftly Tilting Planet 4. Many Waters

The Murrays are no ordinary family. The father and mother are scientific geniuses. The oldest daughter, Meg, is uncannily intelligent. Charles Wallace, the youngest, has strange abilities to sense feelings and happenings that no one else can – and the middle twins, Sandy and Dennis, aren’t so bad, either.

The first book, a Wrinkle in Time, opens with a dark and stormy night – and hot chocolate. This book has been a constant favorite of mine through the years; nothing cna quite compare to the mixture of cozy, let’s-curl-up-in-a-warm-bed-while-it-rains-outside-and-drink-hot-chocolate-whilst-reading feeling this book gives me. It’s imaginative, intriguing, and a wild ride through other worlds as the Murrays work to defeat an evil called ‘it.’ The one ‘iffy’ thing is a ‘happy Medium’ – a very small part of the book, but still cloudy.

5 ouf of 5 stars

Ages 12+

The second book, A Wind in the Door, was… odd. Enjoyable and weird, but not as good as the first book. However, it was completely clean and not very long – which is good, as it is a bit more… bizzare than its predecessor. Still fun, though.

3 out of 5 stars

Ages 14+

The third, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, is my favorite next to a Wrinkle in Time. This time, it’s up to Charles Wallace and a unicorn named Guadior to save the planet from a nuclear war – by hopping through time and changing what might-have-been.

4 out of 5 stars

15+

The fourth, Many Waters, is, well… questionable. This time, it’s the twins who have the adventure – they are sent back in time to pre-flood times. There are SEVERAL problems presented here. The Nephilim/Seraphim are unclear (though I do adore several of the Seraphim characters) and sexuality plays a much larger part here than in the previous books, where it is practically nonexistant. The females wear little more than loincloths, and being 15-year-old boys, naturally Sandy and Dennis notice the fact. Birthing, virginity and marriage to Nephilim are large subjects in this book. Also, ‘El’ – apparently the pre-flood word for God – is questioned several times, as supposedly he is going to drown many really ‘good’ people – though the Bible states that aside from Noah, there really WEREN’T any. One of these ‘good’ people is taken up to heaven the same way Enoch was because of it.

3.5 out of 5 stars

Ages 17+

 

4 responses to “The Time Quartet

  1. Just wanted to say THANK YOU for all of your book reviews! My mom has been giving me a hard time recently about not reading enough, and I will admit I really don’t.
    Mostly, I think this is just laziness on my part. But another issue I’ve had is that I really didn’t have anyone to trust when it came to reviewing books. I’ve read a few ‘duds’ and to be perfectly honest a few that made me sick. XD Some of them were even recommended by our school curriculum…ugh!
    But the other day I remembered a blog you used to have called the Book Fae and then decided I would see if you had reopened it in wordpress after moving from blogger. I am DELIGHTED so see you have!!! :D
    So yeah, thanks again. IT’s great to have a reviewer that I know and trust rather than some PC site that has standards much lower than mine and will say a book that I think is so-so on the moral front is the best thing ever written. >.<

    -Argentia

    • WWOOOOHOOOO! I’m so glad!!! If this is a help to you, then I”m UBER excited =) That’s why I keep it up *grins* If you have any suggestions, feel free to shout ’em out!

  2. Recommendation: The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge. After you read it, watch the movie that they based after it (not very true to it – but anything with Ian Griffin is something to watch – plus the costumes are a.maze.ing).

    • You’re KIDDING! THAT’S ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES EVER and I *JUST* bought the book! Robin is one of my fictional boyfriends XD (The movie Robin) Seriously, once my sister and I watched it like 5 times in one week!!! O_O

Leave a Reply

