Halflings

Author: Heather Burch

Genre: Young Adult/Christian/Fiction/Romance/Paranormal

After being inexplicably targeted by an evil intent on harming her at any cost, seventeen-year-old Nikki finds herself under the watchful guardianship of three mysterious young men who call themselves halflings. Sworn to defend her, misfits Mace, Raven, and Vine battle to keep Nikki safe while hiding their deepest secret—and the wings that come with. A growing attraction between Nikki and two of her protectors presents a whole other danger. While she risks a broken heart, Mace and Raven could lose everything, including their souls. As the mysteries behind the boys’ powers, as well as her role in a scientist’s dark plan, unfold, Nikki is faced with choices that will affect the future of an entire race of heavenly beings, as well as the precarious equilibrium of the earthly world.
 
Positive Elements: Pro-God/Christian and anti Satan/demons, obviously, this book focuses on half human/half anges known as Halflings. You have a few spiritual complications right there, but nothing too serious. The Halflings’ job is to protect Nikki, which they do to the best of their ability. There is a strong bond between them, even whey they annoy each other.
 
Negative Elements: No swearing. No sex – but a fair amount of sexual tension. Raven is a Halfling who appears to be ‘turning to the dark side,’ and who ‘falls in love’ with Nikki and does his best to seduce her. It’s also known he plays around with girls and ‘has as much fun as possible’ while doing his job. Hell hounds and dark halflings prey on Nikki. There is some violence, a lab explodes killing scientists.
 
Summary: The minute I read the description, I had doubts about the book. Paranormal Romance has long irritated me, and it didn’t start with Twilight. The whole idea of angels (or half-angels) falling in love and fighting over a human girl… yeah. I wasn’t impressed with the book. It wasn’t written badly – in fact, the writing style was nice and kept me turning pages. But at the end, I felt more like I’d wasted time. I know NO author wants to hear this, and I happen to like Heather a lot. But to me, the book seemed to scream “Christian Twilight! Christian ‘Hush, Hush’! Read me!” I can’t stand cliches, and this book really was one. Now, I did totally fall in love with Vine. The youngest halfling is adorable and sweet and oh-he’s-just-the-cutest-thing-I-want-him-for-a-friend. Mace and Raven, however, didn’t impress me. I don’t like paranormal love triangles 99 percent of the time, and this was not the other 1 percent. It felt like the book was trying too hard to be the aformentioned Christian Twilight, and the ‘Christian’ part of it seemed pretty small. Over all, my opinion was that the book was unoriginal and trying too hard to cater to what a lot of teens some to want.
I think Heather has talent. I didn’t completely dislike the book, and I think as an author Heather could write some awesome, awesome stuff – but Halflings didn’t make it.
Ages: 16+
2 out of 5 stars
 
 
– Readers can download a free ebook prequel here: http://tinyurl.com/6tosslq
 
For more info, check out these sites –
http://halflings.ning.com/ is a great website where readers can learn more about Heather’s book.

– Readers can download a free ebook prequel here: http://tinyurl.com/6tosslq
And if you need the actual URLs:
ADD Librarian • http://addlibrarian.wordpress.com/
The Book Fae • http://www.thebookfae.wordpress.com/
Bookworm Reading • http://bookwormreading.blogspot.com/
My Story Shelf • http://mystoryshelf.blogspot.com/
Jill Williamson • http://www.jillwilliamson.com/
Katie McCurdy • http://katie-mccurdy.blogspot.com/
Rachelle Rea • http://www.rachellerea.com/
SLY Games • http://slygames.net/wp/
Terri Harr • http://terriharr.blogspot.com/
 
Team Novel Teen is a group of bloggers dedicated to spreading the word about clean teen fiction. Check out other posts about Halflings by Heather Burch by clicking on the links above, and check out www.NovelTeen.com for more information about Team Novel Teen.
 
18 responses to “Halflings

  1. Even though I haven’t read any of the Twilight books (I did see the first movie though), I got a kind of Christian Twilight vibe too. I was skeptical about the premise at first, however in the end, enough of the story won me over to make me want to read the next one. Two of the those reasons are Vine and Raven. I’m a sucker for a complex, layered character which is so Raven, and Vine, like you said, is ADORABLE and I have a feeling he has a very special purpose that I can’t wait to find out!

    • Sounds like we had a lot of the same opinion;
      Raven is ordinarily my favorite type of character but I think my brain was just going “ugh ugh ugh” so I didn’t love him as much as I ought to have :/ Vine, though – ♥♥♥!!!! ^.^

      • “ugh ugh ugh”

        Hahaha! I completely understand! I believe I said somewhere in my review that even though I liked Raven, sometimes I just wanted to punch him!

        One thing in the book that kind of annoyed me is that Raven seems to think he’ll only be redeemed through Nikki. To me, that thinking just seems a little skewed. Glimpses of who Raven COULD be captured me though (like in the scene where Raven teaches Nikki to fight).

      • I KNOW, right? It’s kind of like Heather was focusing so much on the love triangle God was left in the dust. Ahhhh. I LOVE how Raven’s eyes had lightened at the end – loved. I wasn’t expecting it. =)

  2. Hey there, Earwen! ;)

    It’s been a long time since I tried reading Twilight. But I do remember putting it down after a few pages and not being able to move on. Heather’s book was able to grip me, though, once I gave it a chance.

    But for me, I guess that’s a big difference. I was able to finish it, and wanted to know more once it was done. With Twilight, I set the book down and never came back to it.

    But I actually wasn’t expecting to like Halflings at all. I’m not exactly the target audience! LOL

    • *cracks up*
      I can’t see you sitting there perched on the couch reading Halflings… nope… well, actually, I can. In your penguin hat *grins* Halflings managed to grip me, but at the end, I was kinda disappointed :/ I haven’t READ Twilight, but if you know me you know that has NOTHING to do with me knowing everything there is to know about it. XD

  3. I have a friend just like Vine maybe that is why I love his character so much. :) I agree, the book did sound alot like Twilight, but like Christian I was able to finish the book without vomiting so that is a good thing. :D I did enjoy it though.

    • I would have liked to see more of Vine… I totally forgot to mention him in my review!! Oops!

      The only way this book is “like Twilight” is that it’s got impossibilities – paranormal characters, or whatever. I mean Nikki is nothing like whatserface, Mace & Raven are nothing like anyone in Twilight, especially ’cause they’re so unsure of what’s going on, you know?

      But maybe I read a lot of books in this genre. I noticed that there were a lot of ANGEL books coming out right now, so I started collecting them together. Mostly I felt like you did initially, having doubts and feeling irritated. But I was asked to review three different angel books from three different sources at the same time…. so this was my attempt to look at them with a fresh view. You know, sorta work up some excitement. And I’m glad I did ’cause the ones I’ve read so far Unearthly, Embrace & Halflings, were unique.

      Here’s my link if you’re interested:
      http://burgandyice.blogspot.com/p/march-angel-readalong.html

      I’m hoping to read Until Next Time & Angelfall this month, too. And Sweet Evil when it comes out… the author has a GREAT account of how she came up with the book.

      I think Halflings is the only one that takes the idea of fallen angels trying to intercept the bloodline of people carrying out God’s plan, and I like that a lot. It’s a freaky concept that has Biblical roots!! There’s not so much else to label this book “Christian”, though… Don’t you think anyone could read it and not feel preached at?!

      • Oooh, I’ll have to check out those other books you mentioned.
        Hmm… this book DID have some plusses, and like I said, I didn’t hate it – I was more, disappointed in it. The idea of Halflings was strange, and personally I don’t think the Biblical account literally meant ‘they spawned half-angel babies’ so much as they ‘possessed’ them (but that’s a whole ‘nother talk, right there ^_^). Yes, that is one thing that’s very important is not to be preachy, but I felt almost like she was afraid to mention God. Re-naming him ‘Throne’ and all that, it felt almost as if she was trying to have it be as ‘mid-plane’ (no pun intended, cough) as possible.

  4. I liked how you gave your honest feelings about the book. I also fell in love with Vine and I hope he gets larger parts in the future. Even though you disliked the love triangle, I personally liked how Mace tired to stay true to God and do his duty. I think Raven has some issues but it left you with the idea that he could work through them. Thanks for giving the “negative’ list. I use to do that but I found I just repeated myself. Really do like how you style your reviews, keep that up.

    • Aw, thank you SO much, Rachel =) I don’t like putting up negative reviews and try to point out the stuff I DID like, too. ^.^ No book is *totally* un-worth it =)

  5. Very well written, and thought-out, review. I agree, it had a big “Christian-twilight” feel to it (and that’s coming from a girl who never tried to read the book, just seen some of the movie.) Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  6. Thanks for being honest. I really appreciate that you shared your true thoughts! :) Very well-written and fair. I haven’t read or seen the Twilight saga, so that vibe didn’t strike me, but it was a kind of book that I know some wouldn’t be comfortable with and I’m glad you weren’t afraid to reference that. :)

  7. Wow! Check out this discussion over here! Nice conversation, guys! You know, there are many publishers who tend to jump on trends. That’s not necessarily the author’s fault. And in Heather’s case, I know that she wrote this book years ago, before Twilight or Hush Hush were published. And I also know that her original book was very different before she worked on her edits. I know some of you talked with me about my edits with Replication and the kissing scenes. I would have enjoyed reading Heather’s first draft and comparing how much the story changed.

    Anyway… Mirriam, even if you opt out from reading any of the Halflings sequels, I hope you’ll give one of Heather’s future books a try, whatever they might be. :-)

    Jill

Leave a Reply

