Swipe

Author: Evan Angler

Series: Swipe #1

Genre: Young Adult/Suspense/Semi-Dystopian/Christian

Logan Langley is just months away from his thirteenth birthday and the biggest day of his life- the day he will finally be Marked. The Mark lets people get jobs, vote, and even go out to eat or buy concert tickets.

Becoming Marked means becoming free. Or so he is told. Five years ago when Logan’s sister went to get her Mark she never came back. Now Logan can’t shake the feeling he’s being watched…

And then he finds the wire.

Ordinarily I do positive/negative content, but this book really didn’t have any negative content, being a middle-school Christian book, so I’m just going to give my thoughts on it.

I’ve thought this was a really cool concept and idea ever since I first heard of it – I was on pins and needles waiting for the book to come out. And the verdict? — I wasn’t disappointed. Not. At. All. I ordinarily don’t read middle-grade books because – well, my reading tastes are more mature than that. But this book did everything SO well. Characterization, world-building, humor, suspense, intrigue, building Biblical/Christian themes without being ‘preachy’ – I couldn’t put it down! In fact, I read it well past midnight simply because I couldn’t stop turning the pages (and this does not happen to me often). There were a few plot twists that I knew were coming, but there were enough surprise moments that I didn’t actually mind that much. The characters are likeable and relateable, and I was going “Ooh! Oohhh, what’s going to happen next? What’s he going to find? Ooohh!” the entire book.

May I just say, Mr. Angler – if you don’t hurry up and get the next book published pronto, I will be very, very angry and may send you a strongly worded letter.

Thank you.

4 out of 5 stars

Ages 12+

Team Novel Teen is a group of bloggers dedicated to spreading the word about clean teen fiction. Check out other posts about Swipe by Evan Angler by clicking on the links below, and check out www.NovelTeen.com for more information about Team Novel Teen.

ADD Librarian • Blooming with Books • The Book Fae • Book Nook 4 You • Bookworm Reading • Books I Recommend • Christian Book Review Blog • CTF Devourer • Fiction Fire • Jill Williamson • Labor Not in Vain • Maniacal Bookworm • My Story Shelf • Oh, Restless Bird • The Pen and Parchment • Reviews by Jane • Shadow Writer World

 

5 responses to “Swipe

Leave a comment